
Twilight Struggle

Turn Zero Rules
The Turn Zero expansion is a way to freshen up your Twilight 
Struggle experience. It represents a series of variants on the end 
of World War II and its aftermath that could have resulted in a 
substantially different Cold War.

Warning: due to the large number of new possibilities in the starting 
setup, game balance is not guaranteed with Turn Zero!

Turn Zero assumes that you are playing without the Chinese Civil 
War variant and the optional cards from the first Deluxe edition. If 
you wish to use the Chinese Civil War variant, remove the C h in e s e  

C iv il  W a r  crisis card before creating the crisis deck (see step 3 

below), and each player must discard one Statecraft card at random 
prior to resolving Crises. This discard is face down, so the players 
do not know which Statecraft card the opponent discarded.

Components:
1. Turn Zero consists of this rulesheet, six Crisis cards, ten Statecraft 
cards, two modified event cards (Europe Scoring and Nationalist 
China), and six counters to help track Crisis results. The Statecraft 
cards are divided between the players —each will get the three that 
are marked with his superpower’s flag.

Procedure:
1. Determine sides. Bidding for sides is not recommended when 
using this variant; however, if bidding is being used, bid and assign 
sides per the bidding rule you are using. If Influence bidding is not 
being used, determine sides as you normally would.

2. Each player should now take his five State­
craft cards.

3. Take the six Crisis cards and separate them 
into two piles of three each. The first pile should 
contain V-E D a y , Y alta  a n d  P o t s d a m , and 1945 
E l e c t io n . The second should contain I s r a e l , V-J 
D a y , and C h in e s e  C iv il  W a r . D o  not include

C h in e s e  C iv il  W ar  if you are playing with the Chinese Civil War 
variant from the first deluxe edition. Shuffle the piles.

4. Turn over the top card in the first pile.

5. Each player now selects one of his Statecraft 
cards and places it face down.

6. Reveal both selected Statecraft cards.

7. Roll a die, applying any modifiers from the 
Statecraft cards (if any). Cross-reference the 
result on the face-up Crisis card, and implement 
the indicated effects (if any). We recommend 
placing bonus Influence in or near the areas on 
the map where it will go. Counters are available 
to track other Crisis effects.

Note that the Statecraft cards that give modifiers 
can only be used once; the dummy cards can be 
used multiple times.

8. Repeat steps 4-7 for the rest of the cards in the first pile; then 
again for the cards in the second pile.

8.1 Once all of the Crisis cards have been resolved, Statecraft cards 
play no further role in the game; return them to the box.

8.2 Apply modifications to the event deck as indicated by Crisis 
results, e.g. the 46’ result from 1945 UK G e n e r a l  E l e c t io n . Where 
a Crisis result indicates that an card’s event has no effect, it remains 
in the deck and is removed normally should its event be triggered. 
The event simply does nothing when triggered.

9. If either of the Y alta  a n d  P o t s d a m  results that grant choice of 
a card for the starting hand was rolled, the applicable player now 
chooses that card.

10. Cards are now dealt. Any card added from step 10 counts as a 
dealt card—that is, it counts against the starting hand size as if it 
had been dealt normally.

11. Normal setup is now conducted, with the players placing Influ­
ence on the board per the standard setup rules, and modified by the 
results of the Crises. All extra influence granted from Crises is in 
addition to that normally received in setup; all influence reduction 
is taken from that normally received in setup.
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